Dusty Rhodes Tag Team Classic Returning To NXT

Finn Balor, Samoa Joe and others pose with the NXT Dusty Rhodes Tag Team Classic Trophy

The Dusty Rhodes Tag Team Classic is coming back to NXT.

At New Year’s Evil, Ava announced the return of the popular tournament in a backstage interview. Later in the show, Bron Breakker and Barron Corbin agreed to team up, while Nathan Frazer and Axiom also confirmed their entry.

The winners of the men’s and women’s tournaments have traditionally earned a shot at the NXT Tag Team Titles. The men’s tournament is set to begin on January 9th, while two other matches have been announced for the episode.

  • Tony D’Angelo & Stacks Lorenzo vs. OTM’s Bronco Nima & Lucien Price – NXT Tag Team Titles
  • Cora Jade vs. Gigi Dolin
  • Dusty Rhodes Tag Team Classic Begins

Elsewhere on New Year’s Evil, Kevin Owens made a surprise appearance to get some revenge on Grayson Waller.

When Was The First NXT Dusty Rhodes Tag Team Classic Tournament?

The Dusty Rhodes Tag Team Classic was officially launched in August 2015 shortly after the death of the American Dream who had been heavily involved in NXT. The inaugural winners were crowned at TakeOver: Respect with Finn Balor and Samoa Joe taking home the trophy.

To date, there have been seven victorious men’s teams and two women’s winners.

In 2022, The Creeds won the men’s tournament, while Kay Lee Ray and Io Shirai won the women’s crown.