Three Stars Confirmed For Women’s Owen Hart Tournament

Owen Hart Foundation Tournament graphic

Three female competitors have been confirmed for the 2024 edition of AEW’s annual Owen Hart Foundation Cup.

The prestigious tournament was originally announced in September 2021 to honour the late Owen Hart’s legacy and contributions to the wrestling business whilst supporting the Owen Hart Foundation, led by Owen’s widow Dr. Martha Hart.

The first incarnation of the tournament got underway in March 2022 and culminated at Double Or Nothing on 29th May 2022 with Adam Cole beating Samoa Joe to lift the men’s trophy whilst Dr Britt Baker saw off Ruby Soho in the women’s final.

Soho gained revenge for that defeat a year later, defeating Baker in the first round but once again fell at the final hurdle, this time to 2023 Champion Willow Nightingale.

Ricky Starks claimed victory in a star studded men’s tournament, claiming victory over CM Punk in the final on the 15th July 2023 edition of Collision.

Tony Khan recently confirmed changes to the tournament ahead of the 2024 edition, revealing that the stars who claimed victory in the finals, set to be held in Calgary on 10th July, will receive AEW World Title shots at AEW All In on 25th August at Wembley Stadium.

First Competitors For 2024 Owen Hart Foundation Cup Revealed

With Bryan Danielson already announced for the men’s bracket, three top female stars were confirmed for this year’s tournament during the 8th June edition of AEW Collision.

Stokely Hathaway announced that Kris Statlander would be amongst those to battle for the coveted prize before Mariah May confirmed her participation. Former winner Willow Nightingale later became the third top star to declare her intention to battle it out for a World Championship match in London on 25th August.