Eight Wrestlers Revealed For WWE “Smackdown World Cup” Tournament (SPOILER)

smackdown world cup

The WWE World Cup tournament kicks off on the November 11th edition of Smackdown with eight men taking part in the tournament.

It was announced on the November 4th edition of Smackdown that WWE will be doing a World Cup tournament.

The reason that WWE is doing a World Cup tournament is that Fox (which airs Smackdown) is showing the World Cup soccer tournament starting later this month, so in order to help promote that, WWE is doing their own World Cup. Here’s more from WWE’s website, which was written last week, hence why it says “next week” referring to tonight’s Smackdown.

“With the FIFA World Cup due to start this month, WWE will host a World Cup tournament of its own! The SmackDown World Cup on FOX will begin next week with an array of international Superstars due to take part.

The winner of the tournament will receive an Intercontinental Championship Match against Gunther, so the stakes are extremely high.

Who will emulate soccer powerhouses like Germany, Brazil and Italy in their effort to become the first-ever SmackDown World Cup winner? Find out next week at 8/7 C on FOX!”

The eight names in the tournament were reported by PWInsider. The list includes some former Intercontinental Champions along with others who have never held the title before:

  • Braun Strowman
  • Shinsuke Nakamura
  • Sami Zayn
  • Santos Escobar
  • Mustafa Ali – The PWInsider story listed Rey Mysterio, but on Smackdown they showed Mustafa Ali in that spot.
  • Jinder Mahal
  • Butch
  • Ricochet

Also advertised for tonight’s episode of Smackdown is The Usos defending the Undisputed WWE Tag Team Titles against The New Day, who will try to stop The Usos from breaking New Day’s record for the longest Tag Team Title reign in WWE history.

Read all about tonight’s Smackdown right here on TJRWrestling.