First-Ever WWE Champion Crowned

Triple H reveals new WWE Title

A brand new championship now has its first champion in WWE as several stars felt the need, the need for speed in recent weeks.

At the end of March, WWE announced a brand new title was coming as the WWE Speed Championship was born. The title would be won by the winner of a tournament that would bring a whole new concept to the company.

The WWE Speed Championship tournament was contested in matches with a three-minute time limit and aired exclusively on X/Twitter. Johnny Gargano, Angel, Bronson Reed, Cedric Alexander, JD McDonagh, Axiom, Ricochet, and Dragon Lee were the eight men involved in the tournament and now the winner has been crowned ahead of the 26th of April edition of SmackDown.

The final of the tournament will air on May 8th, so if you want to avoid spoilers, you can instead read about which AEW star is jealous of Roman Reigns and why.

WWE Speed Champion Crowned

The final of the tournament came down to Ricochet and Johnny Gargano with Ricochet picking up the win to become the first-ever WWE Speed Champion.

This is Ricochet’s fourth title in WWE after already winning the NXT North American, United States, and Intercontinental Championships previously.