News

AEW Announces Revolution PPV in Chicago on February 29

It was announced during last night’s edition of AEW Dynamite that the next AEW pay-per-view will be called Revolution and it will take place on Saturday, February 29th.

Here’s the official press release from AEW:

— AEW’s Fourth PPV takes Center Stage at C2E2 Convention at Wintrust Arena —

December 11, 2019 – AEW is invading the popular C2E2 (Chicago Comic and Entertainment Expo) with an explosive pay-per-view event on Saturday, February 29, 2020, at the Wintrust Arena in downtown Chicago. REVOLUTION will be AEW’s fourth PPV offering, its first visit inside Chicago city limits, and its third visit back to the Midwestern wrestling hotbed.

The three-day C2E2 expo, which runs from Feb. 28-March 1, is the largest pop culture convention in the Midwest with more than 90,000 attendees. AEW will have a strong presence at the show with a dedicated booth, special meet-and-greet sessions with world-class talent, and other fan engagements.

REVOLUTION will feature electrifying and high-profile match-ups with stars such as AEW World Champion Chris Jericho, AEW World Tag Team Champions SCU, AEW Women’s World Champion Riho, Jon Moxley, Cody, The Young Bucks, Kenny Omega, Nyla Rose and Britt Baker all scheduled to appear. Just in time for holiday gifts, fans can purchase tickets for REVOLUTION on Friday, Dec. 20, at noon ET (11am CT/9am PT) at www.AEWTIX.com , www.ticketmaster.com. Tickets start at $20 and range up to $150 face value.

“REVOLUTION will be a huge pay-per-view event for AEW, featuring the biggest wrestling card we’ve ever presented, at the heart of a three-day destination event in partnership with C2E2,” said Tony Khan, President and CEO of AEW. “The experience in the South Loop of Chicago will be unlike anything we’ve seen in wrestling, and it will be all day, all night and all weekend.”

REVOLUTION will be live on PPV on Saturday, Feb. 29, at 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT, and is available for purchase via iN DEMAND cable operators, DirecTV, DISH Network and B/R Live. International fans can purchase the event at FITE.TV.

TJR Thoughts: This is the fourth AEW PPV and it’s the second PPV in Chicago. It’s not the same building as All Out in August because that was at the Sears Center in a different part of Chicago, but it’s still in the Chicago area. They need to expand their horizons a bit. I know AEW President Tony Khan grew up in Illinois, but they need to try other markets too.

The plan is for four AEW PPVs in the year, so they are likely going to be this one in February, Memorial Day weekend in May, Labor Day in September and Full Gear was in early November, so that seems to be their annual PPV schedule.

I think two of the top matches on this show will be Chris Jericho defending the AEW World Title against Jon Moxley and I think Cody will face MJF.

More News