WWE Raw Season Premiere Bringing Changes To Commentary Team

Jimmy Smith Corey Graves Byron Saxton sitting on WWE Raw commentary 2021

Change is in the air for WWE Raw’s commentary team, ahead of the red brand’s season premiere on Monday, 10 October.

The team of Jimmy Smith, Corey Graves, and Byron Saxton may soon be no more.

According to WrestleVotes on Twitter, the announce booth will be getting a fresh makeover with the season premiere of the show. Other minor changes were also hinted at, though nothing is yet official.

This wouldn’t be out of the ordinary for WWE. Previous years’ season premieres have brought with them changes to the commentary team lineup as well, such as when Jerry Lawler, Vic Joseph, and Dio Maddin replaced Michael Cole, Corey Graves, and Renee Young during the 2019/20 season premiere.

Raw’s original announce team, from the show’s 10 January 1993 launch until 8 March the same year, consisted of Vince McMahon, Randy Savage, and Rob Bartlett. They came together on the headset for a final two episodes on 22 March and 19 April before fully going their separate ways.

As it stands, no word has been made on if SmackDown will experience a similar shift, though Corey Graves has already taken over from Pat McAfee while he provides coverage for ESPN’s College GameDay. He’s expected to remain in the role until McAfee returns in early 2023.