The Rock Reveals XFL Team Names And Logos

the rock xfl

Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson has unveiled the eight-team names and logos of the XFL organizations that will kick off a new professional football league in 2023.

When The XFL kicks off on February 18, 2023, it will be the third incarnation of the professional football league. The league initially launched in 2001 with WWE’s Vince McMahon and television network NBC owning the league. It ended up being a massive failure. In 2020, Vince revived it and that didn’t work because COVID-19 caused everything to shut down in the spring of 2020. After the league shut down, Vince gave up on the XFL venture. Vince went on to have legal issues after closing the football league as well.

In August 2020, The Rock and his business partner Dany Garcia, who is also his ex-wife, purchased the league for $15 million along with an investment firm.

The names and logos of the eight teams can be seen below.

* Arlington Renegades
* DC Defenders
* Houston Roughnecks
* Orlando Guardians
* San Antonio Brahmas
* Seattle Sea Dragons
* St. Louis Battlehawks
* Vegas Vipers

xfl team logos

As far as team names go, the “Brahmas” name might appeal to WWE fans because The Rock was known as “The Brahma Bull” during his career and his Under Armour logo is a Brahma Bull symbol as well.

The Rock also tweeted about the XFL team name announcements and shared a video as well.

Professional football has always been a big part of The Rock’s life. He played defensive line at the University of Miami in the early 1990s, then had a brief run in the CFL that didn’t go well and then he became a pro wrestler in 1996. The rest, as they say, is history.

The Rock and Dany’s daughter Simone Johnson recently made her WWE NXT debut as Ava Raine, who is now part of the Schism group.