News

News: Update on AEW Dynamite TNT Broadcast Schedule in Aug. and Sept. Due to NBA Playoffs

The NBA Playoffs don’t normally begin on a Monday in August like they will tomorrow because they are usually mid-April to mid-June. However, 2020 is not a normal year at all, so a lot of things change on the fly. We have covered the AEW Dynamite TNT schedule changes in the past, but now we have more news on it since the company shared more information about it today.

It should be noted that at this point the changes are for AEW’s TNT Dynamite broadcast schedule rather than their international shows. I’ve yet to find out how the changes on TNT affect other markets like the United Kingdom, Canada (where I live) and elsewhere.

The reason TNT feels the need to change the schedule is they pay a lot of money for the NBA (into the billions) and have broadcasted NBA games for over 30 years. The AEW relationship is less than a year old. Ideally, I doubt TNT wants to change the schedule at all, but it had to happen just based on the NBA schedule.

There is a graphic from AEW that’s posted below, but may be hard to read it, so I’ll write out the key details:

* Dynamite will not air this Wednesday, August 19 on TNT. Next episode of Dynamite: Saturday, August 22 at 6pm ET / 3pm PT. It will be the usual two hours.

* AEW All Out 2019 Part 1 will air Wednesday, August 19 at 8pm ET / 7pm CT on AEW’s Official Youtube channel.

* The Wednesday, August 26 episode of Dynamite will not air that day. It will air the next day on Thursday, August 27 at 8pm ET/PT.

* AEW All Out 2019 Part 2 will air Wednesday, August 26 at 8pm ET / 7pm CT on AEW’s Official Youtube channel.

* AEW Dynamite will air September 2 on TNT as scheduled.

* AEW Dynamtie will air September 9 on TNT as scheduled.

* AEW Dynamite will air for one hour on September 16 on TNT after the NBA Playoffs. No time is listed.

* The regular AEW Dynamite episode will air on Thursday, September 17 at 8pm ET/ 5pm PT.

After that, it’s expected that Dynamite should air regularly on Wednesdays on September 24 and in the weeks that follow.

Next Saturday’s episode of Dynamite was taped this past Thursday. As you can see at the top of the post, Cody defending the TNT Championship against Brodie Lee is one of the big matches on that show.

More News