New WWE NXT Champion Crowned In Shock Finish

Trick Williams NXT

There is a new NXT Champion following Heatwave as Trick Williams’ time on top comes to a heartbreaking end.

On the 18th of June edition of NXT, a battle royal opened the show with the winner claiming a shot at Trick Williams’ NXT Championship. Joe Hendry and Frankie Kazarian from TNA were part of that match but in the end, it was young star Je’Von Evans who picked up the win but that was not without controversy.

Ethan Page was unhappy as he had not been eliminated from the battle royal and he demanded a title shot. Things were complicated further when Shawn Spears defeated Je’Von Evans in a singles bout with NXT General Manager Ava making a four-way match for Williams’ title at Heatwave.

Ethan Page Collapses Into NXT Title Win

At Heatwave in Toronto, Trick Williams’ NXT Title reign came crashing to an end in shocking fashion. Shawn Spears stopped Page from hitting his Ego’s Edge on Je’Von Evans before Trick Williams sent Evans crashing into Spears with a Trick Shot. Williams followed up with a Trick Shot on Ethan Page causing Page to fall on top of Evans while Spears dragged a helpless Williams from the ring while watching the referee count the pinfall for Page to become the new NXT Champion.

The NXT Title change was the only championship change at Heatwave with Kelani Jordan, Oba Femi, Axiom & Nathan Frazer, and Roxanne Perez all retaining their gold.