NJPW Reveals Super Jr. Tag League Line Up

NJPW logo

NJPW will have not one but two tag team tournaments happening at once.

Starting November 21st, New Japan will host both their heavyweight and junior heavyweight tag team tournaments. Like the G1 Climax, the World Tag League and Super Jr. Tag League are both round-robin tournaments.

But whereas the G1 features multiple blocks, these two tag tournaments both feature one block composed of ten teams.

According to the announcement on NJPW’s website, the winning team will likely earn a shot at the IWGP Junior Heavyweight Tag Team Championships at Wrestle Kingdom 17 on January 4th.

The ten junior heavyweight teams are as follows:

  • Clark Connors & Ryusuke Taguchi (the latter having won this tournament seven times before)
  • Kevin Knight and the recently-returned KUSHIDA
  • Flying Tiger (Tiger Mask IV and Robbie Eagles)
  • Lio Rush & YOH (the latter having won this tournament three times before)
  • Alex Zayne & El Lindaman
  • BUSHI & CMLL’s Titan, who are representing Los Ignobernables de Japón
  • TJP & Francesco Akira, who are the current IWGP Junior Heavyweight Tag Team Champions
  • Yoshinobu Kanemaru & DOUKI
  • Ace Austin & Chris Bey, who are representing Bullet Club
  • SHO & Dick Togo

This year makes the first time the two tournaments take place at the same time. Previously, the Super Jr. Tag League was held separately between October and early November.