NJPW Reveals G1 Climax 2023 Dates

njpw g1 climax 2023

New Japan Pro Wrestling (NJPW) has released its schedule for the summer tournament known as the G1 Climax.

It’s a summer tradition for NJPW. The G1 Climax tournament is something the company has been doing since 1991 although they did have other tournaments with different names before that. Some of the all-time NJPW greats that have won the G1 include Masahiro Chono, Shinsuke Nakamura, Tetsuya Naito, Kenny Omega, Hiroshi Tanahashi, Kota Ibushi and Kazuchika Okada, who won it last year for the fourth time.

The winner of the G1 Climax tournament gets to challenge for the IWGP World Heavyweight Championship at Wrestle Kingdom in January just as long as they successfully keep the the right to challenge the champion.

Here are the key dates for the NJPW G1 Climax tournament for 2023 from the company’s website.

As summer approaches, so too does the tournament of tournaments. This year, G1 Climax 33 will see 19 events take place over a one month period from July 15 through August 13. With a traditional opening weekend in Hokkaido, and a return to the original final home of Ryogoku, an incredible month will see the best from around the world in a battle to be the one! Stay tuned for more details!

G1 CLIMAX 33 July 15- August 13 2023

Nights 1 & 2 July 15 & 16 Hokkaido: Hokkai Kita-Yell

Night 3 July 18 Yamagata: Yamagata Sports Center

Night 4 July 19 Miyagi: Xebio Arena Sendai

Night 5 July 21 Niigata: Aore Nagaoka

Night 6 July 23 Nagano Big Hat

Nights 7 & 8 July 25 & 26 Korakuen Hall

Night 9 July 27 Tokyo: Ota-Ku Gymnasium

Night 10 July 30 Aichi: Dolphin’s Arena

Night 11 August 1 Takamatsu: Takamatsu Gymnasium

Night 12 August 2 Hiroshima: Sun Plaza

Nights 13 & 14 August 5 & 6 Osaka: EDION Arena

Night 15 August 8 Kanagawa: Yokohama Budokan

Night 16 August 9 Shizuoka: Act City Hamamatsu

Night 17 August 10 Chiba: Funabashi Arena

Nights 18 & 19 (final) August 12 & 13 Ryogoku Sumo Hall

For more NJPW coverage, check out our recap of Mercedes Mone retaining the IWGP Women’s Title.