WWE Announces 12 Superstars In World Heavyweight Title Tournament

wwe world heavyweight championship 2023

WWE has announced which Superstars have been selected to battle it out for the World Heavyweight Championship.

Twelve Superstars will have the opportunity to take part in a tournament to crown a new World Heavyweight Champion starting on Raw tomorrow night.

The contest will continue on Smackdown with the finalists (the Raw winner vs. the Smackdown winner) set to face off on May 27th at Night of Champions in Jeddah, Saudi Arabia.

Fresh off wins at Backlash, Seth Rollins and Cody Rhodes will take part along with The Miz, Finn Balor, and Shinsuke Nakamura. Meanwhile, Damian Priest will look to forget his loss to Bad Bunny by becoming the first World Heavyweight Champion.


Seth Rollins

Cody Rhodes

The Miz

Finn Balor

Shinsuke Nakamura

Damian Priest

There has been no announcement about what the two triple threat matches will look like, but we should know more on Monday before Raw.

Smackdown will be represented by AJ Styles, Bobby Lashley, Sheamus, United States Champion Austin Theory and two Hall of Famers in Edge and Rey Mysterio.


AJ Styles

Bobby Lashley


Austin Theory


Rey Mysterio

The video announcement for the World Title tournament can be seen below.

Triple H promised the winner of the World Heavyweight Championship would be a ‘fighting Champion’ and by selecting 12 Superstars, The King of Kings has ensured that whoever is successful will have certainly showcased their fighting spirit.