GUNTHER Breaks Silence On Tap Out Controversy

Gunther kicks Sheamus

WWE Intercontinental Champion GUNTHER has addressed the controversy on SmackDown where he appeared to tap out to Sheamus.

In Worcester, Massachusetts hostilities were resumed between GUNTHER and Sheamus following their brutal, five-star classic match at Clash at the Castle.

On SmackDown, the two brutes did battle again over GUNTHER’s Intercontinental Championship and it’s fair to say the match was not without controversy. At one point in the match, Sheamus had his opponent trapped in his cloverleaf submission and while reaching for the ropes, the Austrian star tapped the mat twice – something which caused fans and the announcers to think that Imperium’s leader had tapped out.

However, the match official waved off the tap out with the champion making it to the ropes which caused the hold to be broken.

Taking to social media, GUNTHER answered WWE’s own question of whether he tapped out to Sheamus, writing quite simply:

“Obviously, no!”

GUNTHER eventually won the bout, costing Sheamus his chance at winning the one championship that has alluded him during his illustrious WWE career that has seen the Irish star win every other main roster title available to him as well as winning the Royal Rumble match, the Money In The Bank match, and the King of the Ring tournament.

Sheamus had his own take on the situation as he shared a video on his Instagram of fans after the show showering him “he tapped out” chants.

The two men will get their hands on one another at Extreme Rules in Philadelphia as Imperium faces The Brawling Brutes in a Good Old Fashioned Donnybrook match.