AEW-ROH Veteran Will Be In NJPW G1 Climax Tournament

njpw g1 climax 2023

The field is set for the NJPW G1 Climax tournament with one big name from AEW-ROH being a part of the festivities.

At NJPW Dominion, the 32-man field was announced for the 2023 edition of the G1 Climax tournament, which is the 33rd version of the tournament.

There were some wrestling fans hoping that AEW’s Bryan Danielson would be part of it because he had expressed interest in doing it in the past, but he was not named in the tournament.

However, another AEW/ROH veteran wrestler will be part of the tournament for the first time ever: Eddie Kingston.

Eddie Kingston, who is 41 years old and wrestling for over 20 years, has often spoken about his fondness for Japanese wrestling and the tremendous influence it has had on his career. Kingston has also wrestled at many NJPW shows in recent years as well. Kingston is currently part of the Ring of Honor roster after being a major part of AEW for a few years.

Here’s the full lineup for this year’s NJPW G1 Climax tournament with thanks to NJPW’s website for the information below.

The G1 Climax 33 lineup is here, and it’s huge!

The biggest lineup of all time will see 32 entrants battle for the ultimate glory over one month starting in Sapporo and moving to Ryogoku in mid-August. Here’s the full list of entrants!

Watch all of G1 Climax 33 LIVE in English on NJPW World!

Kazuchika Okada – 12th entry, 12th consecutive. 2012, 2014, 2021, 2022 winner. NEVER Openweight 6 Man Tag Team Champion at time of writing

Tetsuya Naito – 14th entry, 14th consecutive. 2014, 2017 winner

SANADA – 8th entry, 8th consecutive. IWGP World Heavyweight Champion at time of writing

Will Ospreay – 4th entry, 2nd consecutive

Hiroshi Tanahashi – 22nd entry, 22nd consecutive. 2007, 2015, 2018 winner. NEVER Openweight 6 Man Tag Team Champion at time of writing

David Finlay – 2nd entry, 2nd consecutive. NEVER Openweight Champion at time of writing.

Shota Umino – Debut entry

Shingo Takagi – 5th entry, 5th consecutive

Tomohiro Ishii – 11th entry, 11th consecutive. NEVER Openweight 6 Man Tag Team Champion at time of writing

Tama Tonga – 6th entry, 3rd consecutive

Tanga Loa – 2nd entry, first in two years

Hikuleo – Debut entry

Hirooki Goto – 16th entry, 16th consecutive. 2008 winner

YOSHI-HASHI – 7th entry, 4th consecutive

Toru Yano – 18th entry, 17th consecutive

KENTA – 5th entry, 5th consecutive

Zack Sabre Jr. – 7th entry, 7th consecutive. NJPW World TV Champion at time of writing.

Taichi – 5th entry, 5th consecutive. KOPW 2023 title holder at time of writing.

Eddie Kingston – Debut entry

El Phantasmo – 2nd entry, 2nd consecutive

Ren Narita – Debut entry

EVIL – 8th entry, 8th consecutive

Chase Owens – 3rd entry, 3rd consecutive

Jeff Cobb – 5th entry, 5th consecutive

Great-O-Khan – 3rd entry, 3rd consecutive. RPW British Heavyweight Champion

Aaron Henare – 2nd entry, 2nd consecutive

Gabriel Kidd – Debut entry

Alex Coughlin – Debut entry

Shane Haste – Debut entry

Mikey Nicholls – Debut entry

Yota Tsuji – Debut entry

Kaito Kiyomiya – Debut entry