Wrestling History

November 25th – On This Day In Wrestling History

TJR Wrestling

Our full On This Day In Wrestling History section can be found here.

1985 – Andre The Giant, Captain Lou Albano & Hillbilly Jim defeated Big John Studd, Bobby Heenan & King Kong Bundy in the main event of a WWF Madison Square Garden house show. On the same show, The Fabulous Moolah defeated Wendi Richter for the WWF Women’s Title.

1989 – Jake Roberts defeated Ted DiBiase by count out The Hart Foundation and The Rockers fought to a time limit draw and Hacksaw Jim Duggan defeated Randy “Macho King” Savage by count out in the main event of a WWF house show in Madison Square Garden.

1992 – The WWF Survivor Series returned to Richfield for the first time in four years. The two featured matches on the card saw Bret Hart retain the WWF Championship against Intercontinental Champion Shawn Michaels, and Randy Savage & Mr Perfect were victorious by disqualification over Ric Flair & Razor Ramon. This was Perfect’s first match back since SummerSlam 1992. Elsewhere on the card The Undertaker was victorious over Kamala in the first ever “Coffin Match”, and a number of feuds which were built up on WWF TV prior to SummerSlam in August were concluded such as Tatanka defeating Rick Martel and regaining his sacred Native American eagle feathers and The Big Boss Man defeating Nailz in a “Nightstick On A Pole” match.

1995 – In Madison Square Garden The Undertaker defeated WWF Champion Bret Hart by disqualification, The Smoking Gunns retained the WWF Tag Team Titles against Owen Hart & Yokozuna, The British Bulldog was victorious over Diesel via disqualification. Also the 1-2-3 Kid defeated Marty Jannetty, and Hunter Hearst Helmsley defeated Henry O’ Godwinn in a “Slopbucket Match”.

1996 – On WCW Monday Nitro from Salisbury in Maryland Eric Bishoff gave the WCW locker room an ultimatum to join the NWO. There were two quarter final matches in the United States Championship. In the first, Lex Luger and Arn Anderson fought to a count-out draw and in the second, Eddie Guerrero defeated Konnan. Also Diamond Dallas Page defeated Disco Inferno, and The Faces of Fear (Meng & The Barbarian) fought Harlem Heat to a no-contest when the NWO inferred in the main event.

2000 – At a WWF Live house show in Chicago, William Regal retained the WWF European Title against Crash Holly, Kane beat Road Dogg, and The Dudleys defeated Edge and Christian in a Tag Team Tables match. Also Billy Gunn retained the Intercontinental Championship against Eddie Guerrero, Kurt Angle pinned Chris Jericho to hold on to the WWF Title, and Stone Cold Steve Austin & The Undertaker defeated Chris Benoit & Rikishi in the main event.

2001 – Stone Cold Steve Austin retained the WWF Title against Kurt Angle in the main event of a WWF House Show in Tulsa. Also Lita pinned Jazz, Kane defeated William Regal, and Test defeated The Undertaker.

2002 – On Raw from North Charleston Rob Van Dam picked up a disqualification win after Triple H interfered in the main event World Heavyweight Championship match against Shawn Michaels.

2003 – At the taping for the Thanksgiving edition of WWE SmackDown from Boise in Idaho, a 20-man battle royale to determine the number one contender for Brock Lesnar’s WWE Title was ruled as a no-contest as the final two competitors John Cena and Chris Benoit eliminated each other from the ring.

2008 – At a TNA Impact taping in Orlando, Booker T retained the TNA Legends Title against Samoa Joe, AJ Styles & Christy Hemme defeated Awesome Kong & Scott Steiner, and Rhino pinned Sting.

2008 – At the WWE SmackDown Taping from Albany in New York, three “Beat The Clock” matches took place to determine the number one contender for the WWE Title. Jeff Hardy was victorious over Brian Kendrick, Vladimir Kozlov and Matt Hardy went to a time limit draw, and Triple H defeated Shelton Benjamin exactly in the same length of time set by Jeff Hardy in the first “Beat The Clock” match.

2014 – Rusev retained the United States Championship in a 20-man Battle Royale at the SmackDown taping from Fort Wayne in Indiana.

2017 – At Starrcade in Greensboro, North Carolina, AJ Styles retained the WWE Championship against Jinder Mahal, and Charlotte Flair beat Natalya to hold on to the Smackdown Women’s Title, both matches were held inside of a Steel Cage.

2019 – On WWE Raw from Chicago, Seth Rollins held a Town Hall Meeting berating the whole Raw roster as a result of the brand’s losing efforts at the Survivor Series the previous night. Rey Mysterio won a fatal four way match to get a shot at the United States Championship which he won from AJ Styles later on in the show, and in the main event Kevin Owens picked up a DQ win over Seth Rollins.

Notable Wrestling Birthdays: