Wrestling History

May 27th – On This Day In Wrestling History

TJR Wrestling

1988 – At the IWGP Champion Series in Sendai, Japan, Owen Hart defeated Hiroshi Hase to become the new IWGP Junior Heavyweight Champion.

1994 – AAA TripleMania II-C took place in Tijuana, Mexico. On the show Blue Panther defeated Octag√≥n by forfeit to win the Mexican National Middleweight Championship, and then in the main event Konnan defeated Jake Roberts 2-0 in a ‘Hair vs. Hair 2 Out Of 3 Falls’ match meaning Roberts got his head shaved.

1996 – During WCW’s first ever two-hour Monday Nitro (all the Nitro episodes before it were only one hour long). One of the most impactful debuts in wrestling history took place. In the middle of a match between The Mauler and Steve Doll, Scott Hall casually hopped over the guard rail and cut a promo in the ring saying to the crowd ‘You people know who I am, but you don’t know why I’m here.’ Hall (as Razor Ramon) had until a few weeks prior been employed by the WWF and this invasion angle soon gave rise to the NWO and gave WCW a major push in the Monday Night Wars.

2000 – Day One of XPW D-Day Aftermath was held in Bakersfield, California. In the main event of the show Sabu outlasted both Chris Candido and The Messiah in a Three-Way Dance match to become the new XPW Heavyweight Champion.

2002 – WWE Monday Night Raw was in Edmonton, Alberta. Terri defeated Stevie Richards to become the new WWE Hardcore champion but Richards then won the title straight back. In the main event, Rob Van Dam defeated Eddie Guerrero in a ladder match to win the WWE Intercontinental Championship.

2006 – Day Two of ‘1PW Know Your Enemy’ took place in Doncaster, England. Jody Fleisch and Jonny Storm became the new 1PW Tag Team champions after beating A.J. Styles and Christopher Daniels, then in the main event of the night Steve Corino defeated both Abyss and Christian Cage in a Triple Threat match to win the 1PW Title.

2006 -In the main event of the FIP Crystal River Show in Florida, Joey Machete and Shawn Murphy defeated Phil Davis and Sean Davis in a No Disqualification Tag Team match to win the FIP Tag Team Titles.

2006 – CHIKARA Anniversario Epsilon was in Barnesville, Pennsylvania. On the show Larry Sweeney won the ICW/ICWA Tex-Arkana Television Title after defeating Milano Collection A.T.

2007 – At CHIKARA Anniversario! Dusto Bunny and Giii The Space Pirate were victorious against Call-Me-Kevin and Dr. Cube in a wonderfully named ‘Kaiju Big Battel Showcase Of Respect South Philly Sci-Fi Street Fighto Tag’ match.

2011 – Two titles changed hands at PWS Refuse to Lose II in Elmhurst, New York. Firstly the WSU Tag Team Titles were won by Alexxis Nevaeh and Amber after they defeated Marti Belle and Tina San Antonio, and then in the main event Sami Callihan beat Devon Moore to become the new PWS Heavyweight champion.

2011 – 1PW Road to Destiny was held in Ellesmere Port, England, and in the opening match Noam Dar outlasted Joey Hayes, Kris Travis, and Marty Scurll in a Four-Way match to become the new 1PW Openweight Title holder.

2012 – Day Eight of the AJPW 40th Anniversary Year Rise Up Tour was held in the Korakuen Hall in Tokyo, Japan. In the main event of the show KAI defeated Kenny Omega to win the AJPW World Junior Heavyweight Title.

2016 – FIP Accelerate was in Orlando, Florida. Donovan Danhausen became the new FIP Florida Heritage champion after winning a Four-Way match which also featured Aaron Solow, Lince Dorado, and Martin Stone. The main event of the night saw Fred Yehi defeat Caleb Konley for the FIP World Heavyweight belt.

2017 – At HOG Adrenaline in New York, Lio Rush defeated Ken Broadway to become the new HOG Crown Jewel champion.

2017 – HAYATA won the GHC Junior Heavyweight Title at NOAH Navigation With Breeze after beating Hajime Ohara in the main event.

2018 – ROH Honor United: Doncaster was held at the Doncaster Dome, England. On the show:

  • Kenny King and Toru Yano defeated Christopher Daniels and Frankie Kazarian.
  • Silas Young beat Doug Williams to retain the ROH World Television Title.
  • Bully Ray, Punishment Martinez, and Shane Taylor beat Boy #1, Boy #2, Dalton Castle in a Six-Person Tag Team match.
  • Jay Lethal defeated Matt Taven.
  • Sumie Sakai retained the ROH Women Of Honor Championship against Chardonnay.
  • Cody beat Scorpio Sky.
  • Hangman Page defeated Hiroshi Tanahashi by pin fall.
  • In the main event of the show The Young Bucks (Matt and Nick Jackson) outlasted EVIL and SANADA, Jay and Mark Briscoe, and T. K. O’Ryan and Vinny Marseglia in a Four Corners Survival Tag match.

2019 – Day Five of AJPW Super Power Series was held in Gifu, Japan. In the main event Corona Premier Intercontinental champion Yoshitatsu defeated GAORA TV Title holder TAJIRI to become a double champion.

2020 – At a taping of WWE NXT, El Hijo Del Fantasma defeated Drake Maverick in the finals of the NXT Cruiserweight Championship Tournament to become the new NXT Cruiserweight Champion. After the match, Fantasma was revealed to be in league with the two mystery luchadors that had been plaguing NXT. They were revealed as Raul Mendoza and Joaquin Wilde. Weeks prior to the match, Maverick had been released from WWE seemingly in a very real way. This ended up being a storyline in which he would be let go if he did not win the tournament. At the conclusion of the match, NXT executive Triple H came on to the ramp to present Maverick with a contract to work on the black and yellow brand instead.

Notable Wrestling Birthdays:

  • Delilah Doom (1988)
  • Natalya Neidhart (1982)
  • Barry O (1968)
  • Buddy Wayne (1967)
  • Eric Bischoff (1955)