Wrestling History

May 2nd – On This Day In Wrestling History

TJR Wrestling

1987 – AWA SuperClash II took place at the Cow Palace in San Francisco, California, in front of 2,800 fans. On the show Curt Hennig became the new AWA World Heavyweight champion after beating Nick Bockwinkel. The championship was held up immediately after the match due to controversy over interference by Larry Zbyszko on Hennig’s behalf, but the title is returned to Hennig days later after the AWA Championship Committee rules that there was no evidence of interference.

1999 – AJPW Giant Baba Memorial Show was held at the Tokyo Dome in Tokyo, Japan. In the main event of the night Mitsuharu Misawa defeated Vader to win the AJPW Triple Crown Title.

2000 – At the OVW Louisville Show in Kentucky, Damaja beat Nick Dinsmore in a 2 Out Of 3 Falls match to become the new OVW Heavyweight champion.

2000 – WCW Thunder was taped at the Mid-South Coliseum in Memphis, Tennessee. In the main event of the show Ric Flair won a 41-Man Battle Royal to become the new number one contender for the WCW Heavyweight title. The match is also remembered as the last time Randy Savage appeared in a WCW ring.

2001 – At the OVW TV Taping in Jeffersonville, Indiana, Randy Orton became the new OVW Hardcore champion after defeating Flash Flanagan.

2002 – IN the Tokyo Dome in Japan, NJPW Fighting Spirit Memorial Day – 30th Anniversary took place. The IWGP Junior Heavyweight Tag Team belts changed hands when Jushin Liger and Minoru Tanaka defeated Gedo and Jado by pinfall.

2003 – In the main event of NJPW Ultimate Crush in Tokyo, Japan, NWF Heavyweight champion Yoshihiro Takayama defeated IWGP World Heavyweight champion Yuji Nagata to become a double title holder and ending Nagata’s 392-day run as a champion.

2005 – On an episode of WWE Monday Night RAW, Shawn Michaels took on Shelton Benjamin one on one in a ‘Gold Rush Tournament’ match. Plenty of reversals and near-falls were on show in the match which is seen as one of the greatest singles matches in RAW history. Michaels won the bout when he met Benjamin Spring-Boarding off of the ropes with Sweet Chin Music to get the pin and win.

2007 – Day One of the NJPW 35th Anniversary Tour: Brave New World was held in the Korakuen Hall in Tokyo, Japan. Dick Togo and TAKA Michinoku became the new IWGP Junior Heavyweight Tag Team champions when they defeated Gedo and Jado.

2008 – PWS Belleville Breakdown was in Belleville, New Jersey. In the main event of the night Devon Moore defeated Kenny Omega in a TLC match to become the new PWS Heavyweight champion.

2009 – In Oberhausen, Germany, wXw held their Dead End IX Beta show. In the main event Absolute Andy became the new wXw Heavyweight champion after defeating Bryan Danielson.

2010 – Day Nine of AJPW Growin’ Up was in Aichi, Japan. In the main event of the night the AJPW Triple Crown Title was won by Minoru Suzuki after he beat Ryota Hama.

2014 – In the main event at FIP Establish Dominance in Ybor City, Florida, David Starr and J. T. Dunn won the FIP Tag Team Titles after defeating the team of Rich Swann and Roderick Strong.

2015 – OMEGA Chaos in Cameron II was held in Cameron, North Carolina. Trevor Lee defeated both C.W. Anderson and Matt Hardy to win the OMEGA Heavyweight title, which had been vacated by Jeff Hardy after he broke his leg.

2015 – wXw Superstars of Wrestling II was in Oberhausen, Germany. Lucas Di Leo and Peter Fischer retained the wXw World Tag Team titles against James Storm and Mike Schwarz via disqualification. However, the match was restarted as No DQ which Storm and Schwarz went on to win, becoming the new champions.

2017 – WWE Smackdown was live in Fresno, California. In the main event of the show Kevin Owens defeated Chris Jericho by pinfall following a Pop-Up Powerbomb to become the new United States Champion.

2018 – Stephon Pennington defeated El Cheapo at CZW Dojo Wars 164 to win the CZW Medal Of Valor title.

Notable Wrestling Birthdays:

  • Zoe Lucas (1992)
  • Pat McAfee (1987)
  • Caylen Croft (1980)
  • Dwayne ‘The Rock’ Johnson (1972)
  • Big Boss Man (1961)
  • Demolition Smash (1950)