Wrestling History

June 9th – On This Day In Wrestling History

TJR Wrestling

1991 – Konnan became the first ever CMLL World Heavyweight Champion with a victory over Cien Caras in a tournament final in Mexico City, Mexico.

1994 – WWE holds its first ever Hall Of Fame induction ceremony from the Omni Inner Harbor International Hotel in Baltimore, Maryland. The induction class included Chief Jay Strongbow, Classy Freddie Blassie, Arnold Skaaland, Gorilla Monsoon, Bobo Brazil, James Dudley and Buddy Rogers.

1998 – Jeff Jarrett defeated Dean Malenko for the WCW United States Championship on an episode of Monday Nitro from Boston, Massachusetts.

2004 – AJ Styles won the NWA-TNA X-Division Championship from Frankie Kazarian at a weekly NWA-TNA taping in Nashville, Tennessee.

2009 – After suffering a torn left bicep in his Extreme Rules cage match with Randy Orton two days prior, Batista is forced to vacate the WWE Championship.

2018 РNJPW Dominion 6.9 took place at the Osaka Jo Hall in Osaka, Japan and featured five title changes. The most high profile of these saw Kenny Omega defeat Kazuchika Okada for the IWGP Heavyweight Championship in a 2 out of 3 falls match lasting 65 minutes. This win ended Okada’s record 720 day title reign. The bout received enormous critical acclaim with many fans declaring it the greatest wrestling match of all time. Noted wrestling historian Dave Meltzer gave the bout an unprecedented seven stars out of five on his fabled scale. The next major change saw Chris Jericho take the IWGP Intercontinental Championship from Tetsuya Naito and Hiromu Takahashi defeated Will Ospreay for the IWGP Junior Heavyweight Championship. The IWGP World Tag Team Championship changed hands when The Young Bucks beat EVIL and SANADA and finally the NEVER Openweight Championship changed hands when Michael Elgin won a triple threat match against defending champion Hirooki Goto and Taichi.

2019 – NJPW Dominion 6.9 took place at the Osaka Jo Hall in Osaka, Japan and featured a raft of title changes. The first change on the card saw Tomohiro Ishii defeat Taichi to win the NEVER Openweight Championship. Will Ospreay then bested Dragon Lee for the IWGP Junior Heavyweight Championship. The third and final change saw Tetsuya Naito beat Kota Ibushi for the IWGP Intercontinental Championship. The main event saw Kazuchika Okada beat Chris Jericho to retain the IWGP Heavyweight Championship.

Notable Wrestling Birthdays:

  • Tay Conti (1995)
  • Tyson T-Bone (1981)
  • The Sheik (1926)
  • Jim Barnett (1924)