Wrestling History

August 14th – On This Day In Wrestling History

TJR Wrestling

2005 – The final of the G1 Climax saw Masahiro Chono defeat Kazuyuki Fujita to claim his 5th G1 win. This is a record that still stands to this day.

2011 – SummerSlam 2011 saw CM Punk become the undisputed WWE Champion after defeating John Cena only to be cashed in on by Mr Money In The Bank Alberto Del Rio after Kevin Nash got a text, apparently telling him to “stick the winner”. On the same day, the final of this year’s G1 took place with Shinsuke Nakamura winning by defeating Tetsuya Naito.

2017 – Akira Tozawa defeated Neville (now known as Pac) to capture his first Cruiserweight championship. He dropped the title back to Neville a mere six days later at SummerSlam.

Notable Wrestling Birthdays:

  • Bob Backlund (1949)
  • Kofi Kingston (1981)
  • Johnny Gargano (1987)