TJR Week in Wrestling Show Reviews for July 6 to July 10 (WWE Raw, AEW Dynamite, NXT, Smackdown)

TJR Week in Wrestling Show Reviews for July 6 to July 10 (WWE Raw, AEW Dynamite, NXT, Smackdown)

This is the second week where I’m putting together my reviews of the four wrestling shows I review week and let you know what was worth checking out for each show. I also will let you know my grade for the show and some of my final thoughts. Thank you for reading the reviews during the week. It’s another 25,000 words or so, plus all the other content I write every week. It’s the norm for me! Thanks for the support as always.

 

WWE Raw Deal Review for July 6

Asuka vs. Bayley – Champion vs. Champion Match: Raw, July 6, 2020

The Link:https://tjrwrestling.net/tjr-the-wwe-raw-deal-07-06-20-review/

Show Rating: 7/10

Three Stars of the Show

  1. Heath Slater – I really liked his promo. Since he is rare to see on Raw, I’ll give him first star because I don’t know when or if we’ll see him in WWE again.
  2. Asuka
  3. Bayley

Best Matches (over 3* out of 5*): 

Asuka defeated Bayley – ***3/4

Rey Mysterio and Kevin Owens (w/Dominick) defeated Seth Rollins and Murphy – ***1/4

Kairi Sane defeated Sasha Banks (by DQ) – ***

Some of the Final Thoughts: 

This was an enjoyable episode of Raw. I wasn’t bored by much. I liked the appearance from Heath Slater, which led to Drew McIntyre looking like a more likable face after it was over. Star of the night is Heath Slater because he’s the ONE MAN BAND! I think they built up the Extreme Rules card on the Raw side pretty well. There are some weeks where there is too much talking, but not enough action. I felt like they did a much better job this week. There was a nice balance of good in-ring action and promos that advanced storylines.

 

AEW Fyter Fest Part 2 (Dynamite) Review for July 8

HIGHLIGHTS: THE YOUNG BUCKS & FTR VS THE BUTCHER THE BLADE & THE LUCHA BROS | FYTER FEST NIGHT 2

The Link:https://tjrwrestling.net/tjr-aew-fyter-fest-part-2-dynamite-07-08-20-review/

Show Rating: 8.25/10

Three Stars of the Show

  1. The majority of the guys in that 8-man tag team match. I think Fenix, Pentagon, Nick Jackson and FTR really stood out.
  2. Chris Jericho
  3. Orange Cassidy

Best Matches (over 3* out of 5*): 

Lucha Brothers (Pentagon and Rey Fenix) and The Butcher & The Blade defeated FTR (Cash Wheeler and Dax Harwood) and The Young Bucks (Matt and Nick Jackson – ****1/4

Chris Jericho defeated Orange Cassidy – ****

AEW Tag Team Championships: Kenny Omega and “Hangman” Adam Page defeated Private Party (Marq Quen and Isaiah Kassidy) – ***1/4

Mr. Brodie Lee, Colt Cabana and Stu Grayson defeated SCU (Frankie Kazarian, Scorpio Sky and Christopher Daniels) – ***

Some of the Final Thoughts: 

This was an excellent episode of Dynamite. I liked this show a lot. When looking at my rating, this was the best show since the health crisis started and the second-highest score I have given for a Dynamite episode this year. They had two standout matches with the eight-man tag team match that was pretty wild in all the good ways. Jericho beating Cassidy was an entertaining main event as well with Cassidy putting up a fight before Jericho finished him off. Those two great matches were at four stars out of five in my review and it’s rare to see a TV show have matches of that quality on the show.

 

WWE NXT (Great American Bash Part 2) Review for July 8

Adam Cole vs. Keith Lee – Winner Take All Championship Match: NXT Great American Bash, July 8, 2020

The Link:https://tjrwrestling.net/tjr-wwe-nxt-07-08-20-review-great-american-bash-part-2/

Show Rating: 8/10

Three Stars of the Show

  1. Keith Lee
  2. Adam Cole
  3. Candice LeRae and Mia Yim

Best Matches (over 3* out of 5*): 

Champion vs. Champion Winner Takes All for the NXT Championship and NXT North American Championship: Keith Lee defeated Adam Cole – ****

Street Fight: Candice LeRae defeated Mia Yim – ***3/4

Johnny Gargano defeated Isaiah “Swerve” Scott – ***1/4

El Legado Del Fantasma (Santos Escobar, Raul Mendoza and Joaquin Wilde) defeated Drake Maverick and Breezango (Tyler Breeze and Fandango) – ***1/4

Some of the Final Thoughts: 

It was another great episode of NXT with the GAB theme. Keith Lee winning the NXT Championship to go along with his North American Title was a happy way to end it and I like that it felt like a big moment. It was the end of Adam Cole’s incredible run as the NXT Champion with a clean win for Lee making Keith look like a dominant new champion. I think the match was great, but not necessarily an epic match like some of Cole’s previous NXT Title matches. It’s still worth checking out if you missed it because I liked the match a lot.

 

WWE Smackdown Review for July 10

The Miz provokes Jeff Hardy on “Miz TV”: SmackDown, July 10, 2020

The Link:https://tjrwrestling.net/tjr-wwe-smackdown-07-10-20-review/

Show Rating: 4.5/10

Three Stars of the Show

  1. Jeff Hardy
  2. The Miz
  3. Cesaro and Shinsuke Nakamura

Best Matches (over 3* out of 5*): 

Jeff Hardy vs. The Miz – ***

Some of the Final Thoughts: 

This was a poor show. A normal Smackdown has better matches than what we got here and maybe a good promo or two. This episode had several lame segments, the matches weren’t as good as they could have been considering the participants and I have a hard time recommending anything on this episode. I realize that some big names from Smackdown were missing for this episode like the week before, but it’s as if the creative team mailed this one in.

 

IN CLOSING

Average: 6.94 out of 10. Last week was 7.38 out of 10.

Average (WWE only): 6.5 out of 10

The AEW Dynamite show was the best of the week, just ahead of WWE NXT. Last week I had NXT just ahead of Dynamite. Raw was pretty good with some quality matches and solid storylines. It was Smackdown this week that was by far the worst of the four shows.

Just as I said last week, there were plenty of really good matches this week. Seek out those matches I mentioned if you missed them.

Thanks for reading and supporting us here at TJRWrestling. Have a great weekend.