Shawn Michaels Part Of Ex-WWE Star’s Radical Idea For Money In The Bank

Shawn Michaels WWE

Money In The Bank is most WWE star’s gateway to title success but for one former star, it could have been a gateway to something else entirely.

The Money In The Bank concept debuted in 2005 and in the two decades since then, multiple men and women in WWE have climbed the ladder, grabbed the briefcase, and catapulted themselves to the next stage of their career by capturing a title.

However, the MITB briefcase is not always a guarantee of championship gold. John Cena, Damian Sandow, Braun Strowman, Baron Corbin, and Austin Theory all failed in their cash-in match but so far no woman has done that with every female MITB winner going on to win a title. Austin Theory was the first WWE star to cash in MITB for a title other than a world championship when he failed to dethrone Seth Rollins for the US Title back in 2022.

Shawn Michaels Targetted By WWE Money In The Bank Winner

Speaking at a Q&A at For the Love of Wrestling (via Monopoly Events) former WWE star Nic Nemeth was asked about who he’d like to face from any time period in wrestling. In his answer, Nemeth revealed he had pitched the idea of cashing in his Money In The Bank briefcase, not for a shot at a title but to guarantee himself a dream match:

When I was originally the Money in the Bank holder, I pitched an idea that I could cash in, because I didn’t think they wanted me to be world champion, so, I said, ‘What if I cash in this opportunity for a match with Shawn Michaels?’ And I thought that would be kind of cool but now thinking about it, if I got to pick somebody (from any time period to face), I would say 1989 Ric Flair or 1992 Mr. Perfect.

Ultimately, Nemeth had one of the most memorable cash-ins of all time as he traded in his contract on the Raw after WrestleMania 29 for a shot at Alberto Del Rio’s World Heavyweight Championship. In one of the loudest moments in Raw history, the New Jersey crowd went wild as the man then known as Dolph Ziggler defeated Alberto Del Rio to win the gold.

h/t POST Wrestling