NJPW Faction Coming To An End

NJPW Logo Over JONAH, New Japan

One of NJPW’s longest-running factions will be gone by the end of the year.

‘Faction warfare’ is a central theme in New Japan. all the wrestlers are divided into factions that face each other throughout the year. This is why multi-man matches are so common in New Japan and why singles matches between stablemates are saved for special occasions like the G1 Climax.

As of this writing, NJPW’s main roster has seven stables: CHAOS, Guerillas of Destiny, Los Ignobernables de Japón, United Empire, Bullet Club, House of Torture, and Suzuki-gun.

However, by year’s end, there will be only six as Suzuki-gun will be disbanding.

Suzuki-gun (meaning “Suzuki’s Army”) was formed when Minoru Suzuki took over Satoshi Kojima’s Kojima-gun stable in 2011. Suzuki’s stable currently includes himself, Zack Sabre, Jr., Taichi, Lance Archer, El Desperado, Taichi, TAKA Michinoku, DOUKI, and Yoshinobu Kanemaru. Previous members include Shelton Benjamin, Davey Boy Smith Jr., and Yoshihiro Takayama.

Following the conclusion to the World Tag League, Minoru Suzuki announced an end to the stable named after him. He went on to say “everyone will go on a new voyage in 2023.”

Various Suzuki-gun members will be wrestling at Wrestle Kingdom 17, albeit in separate matches. ZSJ will be in one-on-one action against Ren Narita to crown the inaugural NJPW World Television Champion.

Meanwhile, Minoru Suzuki himself will be in a special six-man tag match that will serve as a memorial to Antonio Inoki. The remaining Suzuki-gun members have yet to be announced for the show.