Wrestling History

May 28th – On This Day In Wrestling History

May 28th - On This Day In Wrestling History

1966 – in Minneapolis, Minnesota, The Crusher and Dick The Bruiser became the new AWA World Tag Team Champions when they defeated Larry Hennig and Harley Race.

1996 – WWF In Your House 8: Beware of Dog 2 took place in the Florence Civic Center in Florence, South Carolina. Beware of Dog had taken place two days earlier but only two matches were shown on PPV due to a severe thunderstorm, and so this event was televised to make up for it. The original two matches were shown at the start of the show followed by three live matches:

  • Marc Mero defeated Hunter Hearst Helmsley.
  • Shawn Michaels retained the WWF Championship in a match against The British Bulldog. After the referee had been knocked down a replacement ref took over, but the original referee came round just as Michaels performed a German Suplex into a pin combination. One ref counted Michaels shoulders on the mat, the other counted the Bulldogs, and so the match ended in a no contest.
  • Savio Vega defeated Stone Cold Steve Austin in a Four-Corners Caribbean Strap match. With the win, Ted DiBiase was forced to leave the WWF.
  • Vader pinned Yokozuna following a distraction from Jim Cornette.
  • Goldust defeated The Undertaker in a Casket match to retain the WWF Intercontinental belt. When the Undertaker opened the casket to put Goldust inside, Mankind was already there and locked in the Mandible Claw on the ‘Taker, forced him in to the casket and closed the lid giving Goldust the win.

1998 – Midnight Rider defeated Tower Of Doom in Louisville, Kentucky, to win the IWA:MS Heavyweight Title.

2001 – WWF Monday Night Raw was in Calgary, Alberta, Canada. On the show Chris Jericho pinned The Big Show to become the new WWF Hardcore Champion. On his way up the ramp he was met with a Gore from Rhyno who then got the pin to take the belt and become the first WCW/ECW competitor to win a WWF championship belt.

2006 – AIW Absolution was held in Cleveland, Ohio. Morty Rackem and Rufio Rapier defeated Patrick Hayes and The Duke, and Shawn Blaze and Shiima Xion in a “Buried Treasure” Three-Way Tag match to become the new AIW Tag Team Champions and then in the main event Michael Hutter won the AIW Absolute Championship when he beat Vincent Nothing.

2008 – At a TV taping in Louisville, Kentucky, Pat Buck and Rob Conway became the new OVW Southern Tag Team Champions after defeating Ali and Omar Akbar.

2011 – 1PW The Last Stand was held in Queensferry, Wales. Lionheart became the new 1PW Title holder after beating Greg Burridge.

2011 – At LL USA Masked Warriors #12 in New Mexico, Sol #1 and Sol #2 defeated El Oriental in a handicap match to become the new LL USA Tag Team Champions.

2016 – OTT Even Better Than Our Best took place in Dublin, Ireland. B-Cool and Sammy D won the OTT Tag Team Titles after defeating Bonesaw and Damien Corvin.

2016 – NOAH Great Voyage 2016 in Osaka was held in Osaka, Japan. Naomichi Marufuji and Toru Yano defeated Davey Boy Smith Jr. and Lance Archer to win the GHC Tag Team Titles and then in the main event Go Shiozaki became the new GHC Heavyweight Champion after beating Takashi Sugiura.

2017 – Day Two of PROGRESS Chapter 49: Super Strong Style 16 Tournament Edition was in London, England. In the main event Toni Storm defeated Jinny and Laura Di Matteo in a Three-Way match to win the PROGRESS Women’s Championship.

2018 – At Defiant Road to Destruction in Sheffield, England, WALTER won the Defiant Internet Title against both Travis Banks and Zack Sabre Jr. in a Three-Way match.

Notable Wrestling Birthdays:

  • Joseph Conners (1987)
  • Seth Rollins (1986)
  • Jeremy Borash (1974)
  • Chaz Warrington/Headbanger Mosh (1969)
  • Samu (1963)