Winners Crowned In Iron Survivor Challenge Matches At NXT Deadline

wwe iron survivor challenge nxt deadline 2023

There were two Iron Survivor Challenge matches at WWE NXT Deadline with a big reward for the winners.

For the second year in a row, the Iron Survivor Challenge matches were back at the WWE NXT Deadline PLE taking place in Bridgeport, CT.

The Iron Survivor Challenge match is a unique setup where the match lasts 25 minutes with five competitors. Two wrestlers start the match and then every five minutes, another wrestler enters. Whoever gets the most pinfalls or submissions in 25 minutes gets the win.

What that means is all five wrestlers in the match will only be together in the ring for a total of ten minutes. Also, if you take a fall during the match then you must spend 90 seconds in a penalty box at ringside.

In the 2023 edition of the Iron Survivor Challenge Match, the five men entered the match in this order: Dijak, Josh Briggs, Trick Williams, Tyler Bate and Bron Breakker, who was the only former NXT Champion in the match.

When Bron Breakker got into the ring, he was a huge difference-maker because he hit three Spears in a row and got three straight pinfalls because of that.

The conclusion of the match saw Dijak, Breakker, and Bate have three falls each when Trick Williams suddenly started accumulating pinfalls. Trick got three pins in a short time. Meanwhile, Dijak looked like he had a fourth fall when Eddy Thorpe arrived to cost his rival Dijak a fall.

With less than ten seconds left, Trick Williams hit a running knee on Breakker and pinned him with only a few seconds left before the 25-minute counter was up.

Trick Williams got the win with 4 points while Dijak, Bate and Breakker had 3 points and Briggs had 2 points.

The reward for Trick Williams is an NXT Championship match against Ilja Dragunov at the NXT New Year’s Evil edition of NXT on January 2nd, 2024.

Blair Davenport Wins The Women’s Iron Survivor Challenge Match

In the women’s Iron Survivor Challenge match that took place earlier in the show, the five wrestlers entered in this order: Fallon Henley, Blair Davenport, Tiffany Stratton, Kelani Jordan and Lash Legend.

It was an exciting match that saw Lash Legend use her power when she entered last and looked like she might emerge as the winner. However, Blair Davenport was in the ring for the full 25 minutes and she was able to hit a running knee on Henley for a pinfall win as they neared the 25-minute mark. Legend was in the penalty box and when she came out of it, Davenport ran away from her to secure the win.

The final score was Blair with 3 points, Lash had 2 points, Henley & Stratton with 1 point and Jordan had 0 points.

That victory for Davenport means she’ll challenge the NXT Women’s Champion Lyra Valkyria at NXT New Year’s Evil.