Real Reason Bray Wyatt Isn’t Going Into WWE Hall Of Fame

bray wyatt wwe face smackdown

The WWE Hall of Fame ceremony will take place ahead of the huge WrestleMania 40 in Philadelphia but Bray Wyatt won’t be inducted this year.

Bray Wyatt tragically passed away in August 2023 at the age of just 36. The wrestling world united in grief following Wyatt’s passing as the charismatic superstar was clearly beloved by his colleagues, peers, and fans all over the world.

With the WWE Hall of Fame returning ahead of WrestleMania many had expected Wyatt to be inducted but it seems that is now off the table, for 2024 at least.

Wyatt’s father and uncle Mike Rotunda and Barry Windham will be honoured, however, as The U.S. Express will be inducted.

Bray Wyatt Hall Of Fame Induction “Too Soon” For WWE

Speaking to Sportskeeda’s WrestleBinge, Mike Rotunda explained that he expected his son to be inducted as soon as possible but thinks WWE changed tact to make things less stressful on the family given the ceremony takes place just a few months after Wyatt’s death:

With Windham [Bray Wyatt] passing, I thought they were gonna immediately put Windham into the Hall of Fame, which he will be in at some point. I think WWE reassessed stuff and thought it was too soon to go there with our family and the reactions and the stress on us.

We got a call from WWE and [they] said Hunter wants to do a Zoom call. We were thinking they were gonna tell us what was gonna happen at WrestleMania and Hunter said, ‘You guys are gonna get inducted. You and Barry were a part of the first [WrestleMania] show.

It’s very flattering obviously and actually less stressful on us because of all the stuff that we had to go through with Windham passing, just the mental capacity of it. Obviously, it’s a great honor because you’re getting rewarded for what you spent 40 years doing.

Paul Heyman was the first name announced for the 2024 WWE Hall of Fame. Along with The U.S. Express, Heyman will be joined in the Class of 2024 by Thunderbolt Patterson, Bull Nakano, and Muhammad Ali.